• Intelligence (INT): Intelligence is similar to IQ, but also
    includes mnemonic ability, reasoning and learning ability outside those
    measured by the written word. Intelligence dictates the number of
    languages a character can learn, and it influences the number of spells
    a preparation-based arcane spellcaster (like a Wizard)
    may cast per day, and the effectiveness of said spells. It also affects
    how many skill points a character gains per level, the Appraise, Craft,
    Decipher Script, Disable Device, Forgery, Knowledge, Search, and
    Spellcraft skills, and bardic knowledge checks.
  • Wisdom (WIS): Wisdom is a composite term for the characters
    enlightenment, judgement, wile, willpower and intuitiveness. Wisdom
    influences the number of spells a divine spellcaster (like clerics,
    druids, paladins, and rangers) can cast per day, and the effectiveness
    of said spells. It also affects Will saving throws, the Heal, Listen,
    Profession, Sense Motive, Spot, and Survival skills, the effectiveness
    of the Stunning Fist feat, and a monk’s quivering palm attack.

玩過紙板或者舊的角色扮演遊戲的人,都知道上面兩段字講甚麼。簡單點說,就是INTELLIGENCE和WISDOM是兩回事。用現代話來說,就是IQ和EQ是兩回事。

在知道有EQ這回事之前,我看到這個分野的時候,簡直是一種震撼。然後我慢慢明白,自己最多只是有點Intelligent,卻從來不Wise:讀書還算可以,但還是不懂得和別人相處。

我想起這兩樣東西,是在跟某人在某處長談之後。談的是他和她的感情。

在我心目中,他們都是很Intelligent的人。我一直搞不明白,為甚麼他們的關係卻總是在兜兜轉轉。這次夫人在場,向他問了一些我不能轉達答案的問題,由他自己親自作答。最後,他的結論是:原來他倆,沒有多想過相處的事。

我想起這兩段字,純粹是因為它說:Intelligence是關於written word的。Intellegent的人,通常都懂得咬文嚼字。有時我覺得,有些couple也不過是太過在意對方的說話,所以才有每隔一段時候的爭執。

Intelligent的人聽了多數問:這是甚麼意思?wise的人問:為甚麼這樣說?Intelligent的人會想,我要怎樣答?Wise的人會想,我要怎樣做?

但,當一句話說出來的時候,未必是它表面的意思。尤其是,關於感情的。不過,Intelligent的人好處是在,一旦明白Wise的人的想法之後,所產生的新想法通常是驚人地Wise的。因為他們將更明白這些道理。wise的人懂得怎樣做,卻未必明白這些道理的意義。

我再說一次,我最多只是有點Intelligent,卻從來不Wise。所以,找了一個wise的夫人。所以,有問題,請她吃頓晚飯好了,當然,我不介意在場,當個吃的陪客。反正,你們講,我食。

About Johncoal

莊炭頭,黑口黑面,體形龐大,在新區舊區中學任教新新學科。努力學習發聲,並以指導學生找出自己的聲線為業。

2 responses to “”

  1. Frostig says :

    說得好!  
    當然,不會「順道」邀請你吃飯,wahahahaha!  

發表迴響

